Day 30: Journeying Again

Today marks the end of one journey and the beginning of another (both physically and figuratively).

12788745_10205950511783041_421188261_o
I am so thrilled to have made it to the final day of My 30-day Challenge! I will be honest with you: if I’d known from the start how intense, involving and exhausting this challenge would have been, I’m not sure I would have undertaken it while home alone. But isn’t much of life that way?

If we really were cognizant of what we were committing to when we made certain choices, if we had the foresight to measure all that would be required of us, would we ever step out and do anything? God in His great mercy reveals one little bit of the journey to us at a time. And in faith, we take that first step, followed by a second and a third.

Had I not pursued this challenge, I would not have lived such deep richness and grace poured out from the hands of my God. I’d have missed out on discovering more about who He has made me to be and what He is calling me into. It will take me a while to process all that I’ve learnt and walked through, but as I do, I will share it with you.

IMG_20160608_141345

As I end this challenge today, I will begin my travels to Krögis, Germany, where I’ll be reunited with my man and have the great honor and, yes, also challenge of serving with him during the first 10 days of the Steiger Missions School and Revolutionary Week. Second only to living a life of deep intimacy with God, my greatest passion is walking beside young adults as they pursue Him and get a deeper glimpse of His heart for this broken world, as they cry out for more of Him, so they can be equipped for all He is calling them to.

I remember well when, thirty-three years ago almost to the day, at nineteen years of age, I got on a plane to Holland for my first trip outside of the USA and my first experience as a missionary. I spent the summer involved with a Summer of Service through Youth with a Mission, reaching out to the city of Amsterdam. My heart was forever broken for a world dying without Jesus and my life changed, as God confirmed that He was calling me to a lifetime of serving Him in missions.

DSC02374
That summer, I first met
my husband Denny
(who I married two years later), and I also got to know
David & Jodi Pierce,
who we now have the joy
and privilege
of serving beside
in Steiger so many years later. Funny how God brings
things full circle.

 

So today, I embrace the challenge of a long day of travel and more importantly, of the ten days ahead at the Missions School. May my heart be open and willing to be used however God desires with all those I will meet, for His honor and glory!

For what is our hope, our joy,
or the crown in which we will glory
in the presence of our Lord Jesus when he comes?
Is it not you?
Indeed, you are our glory and joy.
1 Thessalonians 2:19-20

 

2 thoughts on “Day 30: Journeying Again

Leave a Reply

