Day 29: Doing What’s Necessary

 

Well, I’m down to the wire here, folks. This is the 29th post in My 30-day Challenge! Can’t believe I’ve almost completed it!

11937458_10153032016688199_804080946745249693_o

Tomorrow, I’ll be leaving Portugal to fly up to Krögis, Germany, where our mission Steiger has their International Center. Denny has finished the part of No Longer Music‘s tour that he was serving as band pastor on, and he’ll be meeting me there, as we’ll be helping out with the first two weeks of Steiger’s Missions School and Revolutionary Week! I’m so looking forward to this time, pouring into the lives of amazing young people, who have a heart to reach their generation.

But I’m getting ahead of myself. And when I’m excited, I have a tendency to do this.
There are still all those little last-day-home tasks that need to be accomplished and I really must stay focused and in the now  in order to get them done.

A friend of mine, mom of three young children, recently wrote that when she feels overwhelmed, she keeps reminding  herself to only do what’s necessary. I’ve been thinking about that and trying to make that choice today. When I’m preparing for a trip, and there’s much to do, rather than concentrating on the tasks that really require my attention, I sometimes drift off course and begin devoting myself to completely irrelevant jobs, that can absolutely wait for my return home.

And the same principal goes for our thoughts: multitudes of ideas, worries and details can run wild in our heads throughout the day. Dwelling on situations or concerns that are outside of our control only serves to suck life and peace from us. Choosing to fix our minds on what is truly important and deserving of our energy takes a good amount of will power, but its benefits make it well worth our effort.

I want to continue to walk in a place of rest today, yet also accomplish what needs to be done here before I leave tomorrow.

So today, challenge #29 will be to stay on track, keep my head on straight and only tackle what is truly necessary. Enjoy your day, my friends! I’m determined to do the same!

12193740_10153694339576798_9029174153993962111_n

And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing.
Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable,
and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable.
Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.
Philippians 4:8

 

Leave a Reply

