Day 10: Plunging In

IMG_20160519_143359

I had decided last night that if today were a sunny day, I would accept the challenge of having my first swim in the Atlantic for this year – something I always look forward to with excitement! It was indeed gloriously clear and hot by the time I got myself moving this morning, but I had once again slept poorly due to allergies and was not particularly enthusiastic about going anywhere or doing anything. Thus the challenge.

I finally set out on my way, planning to run some errands, go food shopping and then stop by the beach for a quick swim. Steps one and two complete, I already felt exhausted and was having to talk myself into sticking to the plan. You see, whether you realize it or not you, my dear readers, have been helping me stay motivated and following through with this each day. Knowing that so many of you are daily reading my blog posts and cheering me on in this 30-day Challenge has played such a huge role its success these first ten days. So, thank you – every one of you – for your messages, comments and likes. They mean so much to me!

There’s a multitude of beaches near our home and I decided to go to a new one, which I believed wasn’t too far from the supermarket I’d been to. I accompanied the winding road through vacation homes and resorts and began to realize that it was a bit more of a ride than I’d anticipated. Was I ever going to get there? (It actually wasn’t THAT far… I was just tired and impatient).

I came around a curve and finally caught a breathtaking glimpse of the ocean through the pine forest. Yes!

IMG_20160519_142642

Pulling over immediately, I leapt from the car, and inhaled the fragrant melange of pine trees and salt that wafted through the air. So delicious! I was already beginning to disconnect from the wearying rhythm my day had taken so far and dream of the cool, fresh sensation of the sea on my skin.

IMG_20160519_142910
Hopping back in my vehicle, I continued on until I found the oceanfront parking area. Not being much of a “selfie taker” (is that an actual term?), I attempted a quick shot or two with my phone for posterity and made my way towards the wooden plank pathway that led to the shore.

The sound of the surf and of seagulls overhead, the view of crystal clear water and green succulents with yellow and pink flowers creeping along near wooden benches, the crunch of white sand between my toes and that mix of salty fishiness invading my nostrils… this was all part of the experience! What whisks me away from the worries and cares of life and restores my soul to a posture of awe and wonder!

IMG_20160519_144316

That’s my stuff on that wooden bench…

I quickly found a resting place for my towel, stripped off my sundress, eye glasses and flip flops, and took off to meet the welcoming waves! The water was gelid, as I suspected it would be, but I didn’t stop to contemplate its temperature. I rushed forward and plunged in, gleefully leaving behind thoughts of chores and shopping carts and deadlines to meet, engaging with the tide in a graceful dance, a rhythmic rise and fall. Closing my eyes with the suns warm rays on my face, I thanked God for this refuge, these moments of solace that I receive like a sweet embrace from the Father.

IMG_20160519_143037

By awesome deeds you answer us with righteousness,
O God of our salvation,
the hope of all the ends of the earth and of the farthest seas;
the one who by his strength established the mountains, being girded with might;
who stills the roaring of the seas, the roaring of their waves,
the tumult of the peoples.
Psalm 65: 5-7 

Happy Thursday, friends. This girl is happy indeed!

PS – I have some dear friends coming to visit this weekend so, while I will continue engaging in my daily challenge, I’ll only be filling you in on what I’ve been up to next week! Enjoy the weekend!

Leave a Reply

