Day 9: Discovering Deeper Rest

DSC02371

The coastline near Albandeira Beach – Lagoa, Portugal

I hope you’ll forgive me for posting so many photos of the beach and the ocean on this blog. If I had to choose a singular image, one “happy place” that communicates peace and deep rest to me, it would be precisely this. And the bit of coastline pictured here is my absolute favorite in Portugal for its stark, natural and largely untouched beauty; its gorgeous hues of blue and green.

I posted just last Sunday about choosing rest, but this morning as I lay in bed, I felt that God was calling me to a different sort of challenge today, a distinct kind of respite. He wasn’t asking me to stop everything and just be today. I’m quite familiar with that one, as I’m often compelled to this genre of repose when the symptoms of fibromyalgia flare up. No, on this 9th day of My 30-day Challenge, I heard the Lord saying, “Cease striving and leave it all in my capable hands”.

IMG_20160516_152134This is a form of rest that reaches to the core of my being. It begs me to lay down all that I’m carrying – all the burdens that I’ve (so foolishly) allowed to pile up on my own shoulders – and to leave them at the foot of the cross of Christ. Because He is able to bear them for me.

When Denny is away for more than just a few days, as he is now, it’s easy for me to feel over-burdened with all the responsibilities that we normally carry cooperatively. He is such a great support and strength to me, and after nearly 31 years of marriage, we play a sort of symphony together, barely needing a conductor. We’re intimately acquainted with each other’s weaknesses and fortitudes, and know just how and when to pull up the slack for one another.

So as I opened my eyes to greet the day this morning after a week of less than optimum sleep, my plans for today’s challenge fell to the ground like dead leaves and I welcomed the call to let my God’s gentle wind sweep them away, to surrender my anxieties and to truly enter into His rest today.

There remains therefore a rest for the people of God.
For he who has entered His rest has himself also ceased from his works
as God did from His.
Hebrews 4:9,10

This is often a challenge for me, but with each new opportunity to step back from bearing my own burdens and invite the Lover of my Soul to carry them, it becomes a little bit easier, a little more natural. Yet it starts with a choice. And how gracious is our God to give us the option to choose; to never force himself or His will upon us!

IMG_20160518_094555
Many times,
like our silly cat,
I settle for a mere
couple of drops
of His living water,
gathering them
in my hand,
and licking them
thirstily.
And then I walk away,
only to feel parched
once again
minutes later.

 
But today I choose to drink deeply from God’s well of refreshing, life-giving waters. To dive into the fountain unashamed and splash around.

257995_10151189814641753_7422373_o

To be washed clean, fully satiated, and to abandon there the load I’ve been carrying.
For it is not mine to bear.

10426123_10205875661001117_590680656739949964_n

Cease striving and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.
Psalm 46:10

2 thoughts on “Day 9: Discovering Deeper Rest

  1. I just caught up on the last few posts… it felt like having a lazy morning drinking coffee with you on my back deck, soaking in the warm spring sunshine and feeling the refreshing presence of God’s spirit between us. Thank you, dear friend, for how you have been sharing. I appreciate you!!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much, Carla! Your words are such a sweet blessing to me. It’s been an amazing journey so far doing this challenge, but also quite grueling between living the challenge, reflecting on it, taking pics or selecting ones to use and then writing a post… every day. Definitely a discipline that is teaching me so much, yet I feel like I could not be doing this without the encouragement of so many, who I truly feel are walking through this with me. I’d love to take you up on that coffee on your back deck in the warm sunshine, enjoying the presence of God’s spirit between us… hopefully, before too long!! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

