Day 5: Walking with Intention

IMG_20160514_144503

It’s been quite a long time since I took the dogs for a walk in the fields behind our house. I’ve just come out of a rough few months with my health and I really haven’t been up for much exercise. But I could see that they were feeling antsy and needing to get out (though we have a very large, fenced in yard for them to run in) and, though cloudy, it didn’t appear that it would rain today, so off we went.

I decided to add a bit of a twist to our stroll, to make it more of a challenge. (I’ve made it to Day 5 of My 30-day Challenge, people! That’s one-sixth of the way!). Normally, when I go for a walk alone, I spend my time thinking and praying. I enjoy the exercise and the scenery, but the bulk of my focus is what’s going on inside my head and my heart, and talking things over with God. Today, however, I chose to be intentional about admiring, appreciating and savoring His creation.

I can so easily get wrapped up in the day-to-day of life that I completely miss the beauty and wonder of my surroundings. And isn’t it amazing that God so loves us and wants us to enjoy life, that he has created an endless variety of landscapes, plants and creatures? Today, I wanted to stop and look at the detail of each flower, the magnificent shades of every one, the multiplicity of textures, of perfumes and shapes. And because we’ve just come out of a season of heavy rain, the display that greeted me did not disappoint.

The expanse of land behind our house (it’s not our land, mind you) extends for about 11 kilometers (or 7 miles) until it reaches the ocean and is largely made up of open fields, rich red clay trails and lush pine forests. You feel like you could walk for miles without meeting another soul (and most often, you do) and can easily (I speak from experience) get lost in the labyrinth of rabbit trails.

IMG_20160514_145139

As I pondered the incredible landscape that lay before me at every turn and the fact that so few people even walk through this area, I thought of the verse in the Gospels that says:

Consider how the wild flowers grow.
They do not labor or spin.
Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.
If that is how God clothes the grass of the field,
which is here today, and tomorrow is thrown into the fire,
how much more will he clothe you!
Luke 12: 27, 28

Consider how the wild flowers grow. Yes. They grow out here in these fields, displaying such magnificence and splendor, yet are rarely even seen. I would go so far as to say that the vast majority of them are never even contemplated by human eyes. If God clothes them in such glory, how much more will He care for me, care for you, His precious children. In every situation, every trial, every moment of need.

I’m so grateful to love and serve such a marvelous Creator, a caring Father like no other. He tenaciously pursues me, He relishes my company, He is so worth celebrating, every single day.

So I challenge you as I challenge myself! To walk with intention rather than being swept along by the flood and flurry of activity that each day brings. To take time to notice all that’s been created for our pleasure, all that’s been given to us. And to praise our amazing God, the One who is so worthy.

Let the whole earth sing to the LORD! Each day proclaim the good news that he saves.
1 Chronicles 16:23

IMG_20160514_145006

Leave a Reply

