My 30-day Challenge

Us2-2I’ve been married to this wonderful guy for almost 31 years now and during those three decades, we’ve probably been apart for an extended period of time (as in three weeks to a month) on about six different occasions. It’s not something we’re terribly fond of doing, but when there’s a good reason for it, we’re willing to make the sacrifice.

me & NLM truckThis year, Denny will once again be heading out on the road with our mission Steiger’s evangelistic band and show, No Longer Music. He’ll be serving in the role of band pastor (while also driving one of the vans and being a roadie) during the month-long Switzerland and Southern European leg of their 2016 tour. I’m so proud of him, as I know serving in this way really comes naturally to him and is so dear to his heart. He’ll also have the added blessing of spending a month with our son Isaac, who’s the band’s main drummer during this part of the tour.

Back in April, I began considering how I might spend this month that I’d be on my own and as I prayed about it, I felt that God wanted to use this time to challenge and grow me in new ways, to birth something profound in me. I then came across an exceptional deal on a flight to China and considered going to visit our daughter Whitney there for a couple weeks. Yet when I was unable to find someone to care for our dogs and cat in my absence, I determined that, as I had suspected, this season was meant to be spent here in Portugal.

The challenge I feel that God has placed before me is to do something different – an action or effort I would not normally undertake – during each of the thirty days of this month that Denny will be away. It may be a physical activity, a mental undertaking or a more spiritual experience (though, truthfully, I find that ALL experiences have a spiritual dimension). Although each one may not appear to be anything earth-shattering, I believe that every day will bring me a new lesson, a fresh opportunity for growth and new perspective from my Father. Challenge accepted!

While I’ve been preparing my heart for this season, I decided that it might be interesting to share this experience with you, my wonderful readers. As I see it, the benefit of bringing this challenge to this blog is twofold. Firstly, it will help me to faithfully walk through this commitment, even on the rough days. It will no longer simply be a quiet covenant made within my heart to daily step outside of my normal routine or what might be comfortable for me. In welcoming you to the picture I am, in essence, making a vow to you – a pledge to carry this out in its entirety. Secondly, since I will take the time each day to briefly recount here what has transpired, I’ll thus create for myself the opportunity to reflect on the events of my day and what their significance has been for me. It’s a win-win, folks!

Everything becomes a little different as soon as it is spoken out loud. – Hermann Hesse

DSC03211

So welcome to my 30-day challenge! It will begin on Tuesday, May 10 when Denny flies out of here and will end on June 8, when I fly to be reunited with him and to participate in the beginning weeks of Steiger’s Missions School in Krögis, Germany. I confess it’s a bit of a scary undertaking, but I suppose it wouldn’t be much of a challenge if it weren’t.
So… see you two days from now!!

Call to me and I will answer you,
and will tell you great and hidden things
that you have not known.
Jeremiah 33:3

31 thoughts on “My 30-day Challenge

    • Thanks for your thoughts and the encouragement, Kat – sure helps to keep me motivated! And yes – please do join me in the daily blog challenge. I’d love to have some company in this and to read what is speaking to you or inspiring you each day! I follow a blog in which the author writes a short poem every day and also daily publishes a poem by another author that inspires him… love this idea.

      Like

  1. Hey Maureen,
    I am so excited about your 30 day challenge. My prayers are with you for all that God has for you during this time. I look forward to being with you in the journey, by reading your blogs.

    Love you & your precious, wonderful family!

    Like

    • Thanks so much for the prayer and encouragement, Linda! I appreciate your faithfulness in friendship and in numerous other ways. Thanks for journeying with me on this… it’s great to have traveling companions. 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Day 1: Seeing it Through | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  3. Pingback: Day 2: Being a Warrior | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  4. Pingback: Day 3: Learning to Wait | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  5. Pingback: Day 4: Uprooting the Weeds | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  6. Pingback: Day 5: Walking with Intention | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  7. Pingback: Day 6: Choosing Rest | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  8. Pingback: Day 8: Imagining the Psalms | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  9. Pingback: Day 9: Discovering Deeper Rest | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  10. Pingback: Day 10: Plunging In | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  11. Pingback: Day 11: Meditating on the Process | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  12. Pingback: Day 12: Seeing Like a Child | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  13. Pingback: Day 13: Enjoying the Cool of the Day | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  14. Pingback: Day 14: On Stretching… and Being Stretched | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  15. Pingback: Day 15: Representing God’s Glory | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  16. Pingback: Day 16: Exploring on Two Wheels | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  17. Pingback: Day 18: Preparing to Receive | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  18. Pingback: Day 19: Keeping Calm | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  19. Pingback: Day 20: Saying Goodbye | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  20. Pingback: Day 22: Encouraging Others | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  21. Pingback: Day 23: Dining Happy | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  22. Pingback: Day 24: Bathing the Pups | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  23. Pingback: Day 25: Taking a Road Trip | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  24. Pingback: Day 26: Preparing Octopus! | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  25. Pingback: Day 27: Resting Psalm More | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  26. Pingback: Day 28: Finding New Strength | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  27. Pingback: Day 29: Doing What’s Necessary | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

  28. Pingback: Realigning Summer Plans | Reflections from Beyond My Doorstep

Leave a Reply

